The ORS Int. is the official adjudicator of ocean rowing records for Guinness World Records

 


     

 Shepherd Ocean Fours Rowing Race 2006  across the North Atlantic Ocean,
 from New York Harbour to Falmouth, U.K.
Race started on June 10, 2006 at 15:26GMT (11:26 EDT)
from
Liberty Landing Marina Jersey City, New Jersey
Race finished on September 3, 2006 at 15:25GMT


 Some  comparative charts
 
and news/messages board

Click on the logo to follow

click here for  Hesco
Press Archive and Latest News
 

For press articles click here >>>   See photos of the start by Adrian Bell >>>

Team Hesco landed on September 3rd 2006 at 15:25GMT (16:25 BST)
They took a tow 1.4 miles off shore of Mevagissey, they let go of the tow just outside the harbour and then rowed into the harbour to be greeted by family and friends
Team Hesco have rowed the longest continuous distance (as the crow flies) non-stop
across the Atlantic from West to East

 

days   hours : minutes : seconds
84 : 23 : 59 : 00


August 26th at 09:29:00GMT (10:29BST) the British team ‘Yorkshire Warrior’ arrived in
 Port Pendennis Marina
after successful Atlantic crossing

 

                                             Official  time of crossing the Atlantic

 

days   hours : minutes : seconds
75 : 17 : 39 : 00

 

 

  The American team ‘James Robert Hanssen’ while fighting adverse weather conditions, were not able to break
 the record for ‘ocean rowing four’ from USA to UK  (60 day 16 hour) of the Dutch team
‘Vopak Victory’
 (2005).
 See the comparative charts showing the route of both teams
Read the latest  from  the team's log >>> and from Greg Spooner >>>


August 18th 2006 at 14:44GMT the American team ‘James Robert Hanssen’ crossed the finish line  and thereby completed their crossing of the Atlantic Ocean in 68 days 23 hours 18 minutes.

days   hours : minutes : seconds
71 : 03 : 22 : 35

August 20th at 18:48:35 GMT
the American team ‘James Robert Hanssen’ landed in Port Pendennis Marina, Falmouth Cornwall
 and thereby became
the first  to row from mainland USA to mainland  UK,
the first Americans to row the Atlantic from West to East,
and
the first American 'FOUR'